

Mo Ibrahim Foundation announces no winner of 2016 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership

LONDON, 28 February 2017 - The Mo Ibrahim Foundation today announced that there is no winner of the 2016 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

The announcement was made following a meeting of the independent Prize Committee chaired by Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim, and the Mo Ibrahim Foundation's Board meeting last week-end.

Commenting on the decision of the Prize Committee, Dr. Salim said: "As I emphasise each year, a very high bar was deliberately set when the Prize was launched in 2006. We recognise and applaud the important contributions that many African leaders have made to change their countries for the better. But the Prize is intended to highlight and celebrate truly exceptional leadership, which is uncommon by its very definition. After careful consideration, the Committee has decided not to award the Prize in 2016."

The candidates for the Ibrahim Prize are all former African executive Heads of State or Government who have left their office during the last three calendar years (2014-2016), having been democratically elected and served their constitutionally mandated term.

Since being launched in 2006, the Ibrahim Prize has been awarded four times. The previous Laureates are President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014), President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007). Nelson Mandela was the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007.

The Foundation looks forward to hosting its flagship event, the Ibrahim Governance Weekend, in Marrakech, Morocco from 7 to 9 April 2017. The event will open on the Friday evening with a high-profile discussion titled "A Conversation on Leadership", looking at the challenges of global leadership in the 21st century.

####

Contacts:

For more information, please contact:

- Sophie Masipa, <u>masipa.s@moibrahimfoundation.org</u>, +44 (0) 20 7535 5067
- Hallie Detrick, hallie.detrick@portland-communications.com, +44 (0) 20 7554 1719

Join the discussion online using the hashtag #MIFPrize

You can follow the Mo Ibrahim Foundation on:

- Website: http://mo.ibrahim.foundation/
- Twitter: @Mo_IbrahimFdn
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MolbrahimFoundation
- Instagram: https://instagram.com/moibrahimfoundation
- YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/moibrahimfoundation



Notes to Editors:

The Ibrahim Prize:

- Recognises and celebrates African leaders who, under challenging circumstances, have developed their countries, lifted people out of poverty and paved the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity;
- Highlights exceptional role models for the continent;
- Ensures that the African continent continues to benefit from the experience and wisdom of exceptional leaders once they have left national office, by enabling them to continue in other public roles on the continent:
- Is an award and a standard for excellence in leadership in Africa, and not a 'first prize', there is not necessarily a Laureate every year.

Criteria:

- Former African Executive Head of State or Government
- Left office in the last three years
- Democratically elected
- Served his/her constitutionally mandated term
- Demonstrated exceptional leadership

The Ibrahim Prize is the largest annually awarded prize in the world, consisting of:

- US\$5 million over ten years
- US\$200,000 per year for life thereafter

It is also possible for Ibrahim Laureates to apply for an additional US\$200,000 per year for philanthropic activities.

Prize Committee

The winner of the Ibrahim Prize is selected by an independent Prize Committee, appointed by the Foundation Board, comprised of:

- Salim Ahmed Salim (Chair) | Former Secretary-General, OAU; Former Prime Minister of Tanzania; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
- Martti Ahtisaari | Former President of Finland; Nobel Laureate
- Aïcha Bah Diallo | President, Network for Education for All in Africa; Former Minister of Education in Guinea
- Mohamed ElBaradei | Director General Emeritus, International Atomic Energy Agency; Nobel Laureate
- Graça Machel | President, Foundation for Community Development; Former Minister of Education in Mozambique; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
- Festus Mogae | Former President of Botswana; 2008 Ibrahim Prize Laureate
- Mary Robinson | UN Special Envoy for El Nino and Climate; Former UN Special Envoy on the Great Lakes Region of Africa; Former President of Ireland; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member

More information on the Ibrahim Prize Laureates can be found at: http://mo.ibrahim.foundation/prize/laureates/

Ibrahim Governance Weekend

The annual Ibrahim Governance Weekend is the flagship event of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, held every year in a different African city. This three-day event convenes prominent African and Africa-focused political and business leaders, representatives from civil society, multilateral and regional institutions as well as Africa's major international partners to identify specific policy challenges and discuss priorities for action. The conversation is extended to a wider audience through music, art and sport at major public events, showcasing some of Africa's brightest talent.