

16 June 2016

Mo Ibrahim Foundation announces no winner of 2015 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation today announced that there is no winner of the 2015 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

The announcement was made following a meeting of the independent Prize Committee chaired by Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim.

Commenting on the decision of the Prize Committee, Mo Ibrahim, Chairman of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, said: "The Board respects the decision of the independent Prize Committee. When we launched the Prize ten years ago, we deliberately set a very high bar. We want the Prize to shine a spotlight on outstanding leadership to provide role models right across society, as well as supporting Laureates to continue to serve the continent by sharing their wisdom and experience."

The candidates for the Ibrahim Prize are all former African executive Heads of State or Government who have left their office during the last three calendar years, having been democratically elected and served their constitutionally mandated term. The Prize Committee meets on a regular basis to review eligible candidates and has begun considering candidates for the 2016 Ibrahim Prize.

Since being launched in 2006, the Ibrahim Prize has been awarded four times. The previous Laureates are President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014), President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007). Nelson Mandela was the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007.

####

Contacts:

For more information, please contact:

- Sophie Masipa, masipa.s@moibrahimfoundation.org, +44 (0) 20 7535 5067
- Morgane Legendre, <u>morgane.legendre@portland-communications.com</u>, +44 (0) 77 10917 222
- Hashtag to join the discussion online #MIFPrize
 - You can follow the Mo Ibrahim Foundation on:
 - Twitter: <u>@Mo_IbrahimFdn</u>
 - Facebook: <u>http://www.facebook.com/MolbrahimFoundation</u>
 - Instagram: http://instagram.com/moibrahimfoundation
 - YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/moibrahimfoundation



Notes to Editors:

The Ibrahim Prize:

- Recognises and celebrates African leaders who, under challenging circumstances, have developed their countries, lifted people out of poverty and paved the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity;
- Highlights exceptional role models for the continent;
- Ensures that the African continent continues to benefit from the experience and wisdom of exceptional leaders once they have left national office, by enabling them to continue in other public roles on the continent;
- Is an award and a standard for excellence in leadership in Africa, and not a 'first prize', there is not necessarily a Laureate every year.

Criteria:

- Former African Executive Head of State or Government
- Left office in the last three years
- Democratically elected
- Served his/her constitutionally mandated term
- Demonstrated exceptional leadership

The Ibrahim Prize is the largest annually awarded prize in the world, consisting of:

- US\$5 million over ten years
- US\$200,000 per year for life thereafter

It is also possible for Ibrahim Laureates to apply for an additional US\$200,000 per year for philanthropic activities.

Prize Committee

The winner of the Ibrahim Prize is selected by an independent Prize Committee, appointed by the Foundation Board, comprised of:

- Salim Ahmed Salim (Chair) | Former Secretary-General, OAU; Former Prime Minister of Tanzania; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
- Martti Ahtisaari | Former President of Finland; Nobel Laureate
- Aïcha Bah Diallo | President, Network for Education for All in Africa; Former Minister of Education in Guinea
- Mohamed ElBaradei | Director General Emeritus, International Atomic Energy Agency; Nobel Laureate
- Graça Machel | President, Foundation for Community Development; Former Minister of Education in Mozambique; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
- Festus Mogae | Former President of Botswana; 2008 Ibrahim Prize Laureate
- Mary Robinson | UN Special Envoy for El Nino and Climate; Former UN Special Envoy on the Great Lakes Region of Africa; Former President of Ireland; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member

More information on the Ibrahim Prize Laureates can be found at: <u>http://mo.ibrahim.foundation/prize/laureates/</u>